## OFFICE OF THE GOVERNOR STATE OF MONTANA

The control of the co

GOVS OFFICE

JOHN BOHLINGER Lt. GOVERNOR

Brian Schweitzer Governor January 19, 2006

President George Dennison University Hall 109 University of Montana Missoula, MT 59812



JAN 26 2006
THE UNIVERSITY OF MONTANA
PRESIDENT'S OFFICE

RECEIVED

## President Dennison:

Recently members of your faculty have approached my office about the opportunity to reestablish a climate office for the State of Montana. I believe such an office has the potential to provide valuable climatic information to the people of Montana.

As you are well aware, this administration is an inclusive administration and— although I am a lifelong Bobcat—Lt. Governor Bohlinger assures me that the University of Montana School of Forestry is the academic institution that is the appropriate location for a Montana Climate Office. I trust his judgment is based on facts, not his own loyalty to the Grizzlies.

It is also my understanding that a cooperative agreement may be developed between the School of Forestry and Montana State University-Billings that will allow for a State Climate office to have a working relationship with other academic and non-profit entities throughout our state. Montana's size, scope, and diversity require that we make every attempt to reach across physical distances to serve the public by making climate data readily available to a wide variety of users.

I also ask that the State Climate Office work in a collaborative manner with my Drought Advisory Committee, and work with DEQ Director Richard Opper as he forms the new Climate Change Advisory Group. I believe the expertise of the State Climatologist can add to the work of these committees.

In accordance with your request, I hereby designate the University of Montana School of Forestry as the official State Climate office, with Dr. Don Potts serving as the State Climatologist.

As farmer and soil scientist, I look forward to seeing the work of the Office in the near future.

Sincerely

Governor Brian Schweitzer

CC: Commissioner Sheila Sterns
President Geoff Gamble

Chancellor Ronald Sexton